June 22, 2018

Welcome to Texas Society Daughters of Colonial Wars

2016-2019 State President Diane Dyess

Welcome to the web site of the Texas Society Daughters of Colonial Wars. The Texas Society organized April 3, 1941 at the Woman’s Club of Fort Worth with Lillian Fuller McLemore (Mrs. Robert Henry) as organizing President. Our membership is based on lineal descent from ancestors arriving from the time of the settlement of Jamestown (May 13, 1607) until the battle of Lexington (April 19, 1775), by their acts and counsel, assisting in the establishment, defense and preservation of the American Colonies, either serving in the military or providing civil service.

We recognize and celebrate these pioneering individuals through our support of the  Objects and Projects of the National Society.  Please visit “About Us” on the home page and select “National Projects” or, visit the National Society website at www.nsdcw.org.

The Texas Society specifically recognizes an outstanding teacher of American History as well as an individual that collects and preserves records relating to the American Colonial Period through the Historic Research and Preservation Award. The Texas Society also awards the Grace Perkins scholarship award. Grace Perkins, a Texas Society member, donated $500 for a book scholarship. This was the foundation for the Grace Perkins Scholarship Fund founded in 1960. Memorials and donations have added to this fund annually.

Thank you for your interest in the National Society Daughters of Colonial Wars and, in particular, the Texas Society Daughters of Colonial Wars. Inquiries are welcome regarding membership in the Society. As our membership grows we are better equipped to meet the Objects of the Society and preserve the historic accomplishments of our ancestors to this great Nation. Membership criteria may be found on the Membership page. Please don’t hesitate to contact either the State Registrar at mwg914@aol.com or the State President at dabransom@sbcglobal.net for further information.

Thank you for visiting the Texas Society Daughters of Colonial Wars website. We hope you will consider membership in the Texas Society.

Diane Dyess
State President 2016-2019

Copyright © 2012. This site is property of the Texas Society Daughters of Colonial Wars. Graphics and information may not be copied or edited in any way with out permission from the Texas Society. Web hyperlinks to non-DCW sites are not the responsibility of the NSDCW or individual DCW State Societies.